You are welcome to discuss various security topics with our professional team and other users like you!
Read our Registration Agreement and create your FREE account here!

never

• +24/-0
  • Network Administrator and Malware Researcher
Files Encrypted With Random File Extensions
« on: January 07, 2016, 09:20:24 am »
Hello, this is an open topic created with the purpose to assist users who have had their files encrypted with random file extensions and changed file names. You may ask questions, share your experience or help other affected users in need.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 11:08:53 am by sensadmin »

cornelg7

• +0/-0
Re: Files Encrypted With Random File Extensions
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2016, 09:28:11 pm »
English! Sorry I'm not good with hi ;D
Hi! Sorry for the English mistakes, I'm not a native speaker.

Firstly, let me thank you guys for willing to give some help with the fight against these encryption viruses.
Secondly, let me mention that I personally didn't have any problems like this, below are some of a friend's files. I know how to defend and prevent myself from this and other types of viruses. Seeing how serious this site is, I may do a mini-tutorial on how to clean your computer and how to keep it like that.

Now, to get to the problem, I have attached screenshots of the beginning of one of the encrypted files opened with notepad and also the Help_Your_Files.png where they give information about the virus. Unfortunately, the picture is in french, so I used an online png-to-text converter and translated it via google translate in English. Here is the result: http://pastebin.com/tBEaFx06

So now I guess the main problem is not the decryption of the files, but discovering what actual ransomware caused it. I don't think it is the bitcrypt as that is not the extension of the files. Any help of any sort is highly appreciated. Thank you again for this post.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 11:09:07 am by sensadmin »

dakodaks

• +0/-0