New Malware Campagne Evadés AV détection, Téléchargements logiciels espions
CYBER NOUVELLES

Nouvelle campagne Malicious Evadés détection AV, Téléchargements logiciels espions

Les chercheurs en sécurité ont découvert une nouvelle attaque malveillante qui implique des exploits bien connus dans le but de contourner les solutions de sécurité. La campagne se répand stealers d'information, ou des morceaux de logiciels espions sophistiqués. Plus précisement, les attaquants diffusent une information de vol de sophistiqué cheval de Troie connu sous le nom d'agent Tesla, ainsi que les informations Loki stealer.



Agent Tesla Malicious Campaigns – Mise à jour Août 2019

Selon de nouvelles données, the Agent Tesla malware is currently employing steganography in its latest malspam campaigns. Steganography is the practice of concealing a file, message, image, or video within another file, message, image, or video. En fait, steganography is an old trick in malware distribution, and it literally means hiding code within a regular image which in most cases may not be checked for malware.

Détails techniques sur l'attaque sophistiquée, La détection soustrait à la signification

Les chercheurs en sécurité chez Cisco Talos détecté "un document très suspect qui n'a pas été repris par les solutions antivirus communes".

Les attaquants derrière cette nouvelle forme d'attaque ont déployé un bien connu chaîne exploit. Cependant, elle a été modifiée de telle sorte qu'elle passe inaperçue par les solutions de sécurité.

La Agent Tesla cheval de Troie est conçu pour dérober des informations de connexion de plusieurs logiciels, tels que Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Outlook, parmi d'autres. Le cheval de Troie peut également capturer des captures d'écran, webcams record, et permettent aux pirates d'installer des logiciels malveillants supplémentaires sur les systèmes infectés, les chercheurs.

Le cheval de Troie est également capable d'effectuer d'autres activités malveillantes telles que la surveillance et la collecte des entrées du clavier, Presse-papiers, prendre des screenshots, et exfiltration recueilli de l'information sensible. Cependant, Tesla agent n'est pas le seul morceau de logiciels malveillants distribués dans cette campagne - Loki, une autre information stealer, est également tombé sur les machines des victimes.

Deux Microsoft Word Exploits Abused: CVE-2017-0199 et CVE-2017-11882

En ce qui concerne les exploits qui sont utilisés par les adversaires – deux exploits publics pour les vulnérabilités Microsoft Word CVE-2017-0199 et CVE-2017-11882 sont utilisés dans le scénario d'attaque malveillante.

Le CVE-2017-0199 exploit, en particulier, était utilisés dans des attaques en 2017 lorsque les acteurs de la menace abusé des fichiers Microsoft Office qui pour fournir plusieurs souches de logiciels malveillants. The unique thing about the incidents is that they used a new strategy by exploiting a relatively new feature that was integrated into the Microsoft Office suite last year.

CVE-2017-11882 est un autre Microsoft Office bien connu exploit qui a été détecté dans les campagnes malveillantes en Septembre de cette année, qui livraient la CobInt cheval de Troie.

Le fichier .docx et le fichier RTF

La campagne actuelle, découvert et analysé par Cisco Talos, commence par le téléchargement d'un Microsoft malveillant .DOCX. Le fichier contient des instructions pour télécharger un particulier fichier RTF du document. Ceci est l'activité qui est détectée par les produits antivirus.

Selon les chercheurs:

Au moment où le dossier a été analysé, il avait presque pas sur le site Web de détection de l'analyse antivirus multi-moteur VirusTotal. Seulement deux 58 programmes antivirus trouvé quelque chose de suspect. Les programmes qui ont été marqués cet échantillon seul avertissement au sujet d'un fichier RTF formaté à tort.

Le Rich Text Format, ou RTF pour court, est un format de fichier de document exclusif aux spécifications publiées développé par Microsoft Corporation de 1987 jusqu'à 2008 pour l'échange de documents multi-plateforme avec les produits Microsoft.

Les fichiers RTF ne prennent pas en charge une langue macro, mais ils prennent en charge Microsoft Linking objet et Embedding (NO) des objets et des objets d'abonnés Macintosh Edition Manager via l' « objet ’ mot de commande. L'utilisateur peut lier ou incorporer un objet à partir du format identique ou différent dans le document RTF.

En d'autres termes, il est possible pour les utilisateurs de lier ou des objets dans le fichier Embed RTF, mais obscurcissement doit être ajouté. Il convient également de noter que tout ce que le fichier RTF ne reconnaît pas est généralement ignoré.

Les chercheurs ne sont pas en mesure de comprendre complètement comment l'acteur menace a changé l'exploit manuellement, ou s'ils ont utilisé un outil pour produire le shellcode. “D'une manière ou d'une autre, cela montre que l'acteur ou leurs outils ont [la] possibilité de modifier le code assembleur de telle sorte que les octets d'opcode résultant complètement différentes, mais encore exploiter la même vulnérabilité.”

Les experts en sécurité attendent également de voir cette nouvelle technique inclus dans d'autres campagnes malveillantes fournissant d'autres souches de logiciels malveillants.

Milena Dimitrova

Milena Dimitrova

Un écrivain inspiré et gestionnaire de contenu qui a été avec SensorsTechForum depuis le début. Axé sur la vie privée des utilisateurs et le développement des logiciels malveillants, elle croit fermement dans un monde où la cybersécurité joue un rôle central. Si le bon sens n'a pas de sens, elle sera là pour prendre des notes. Ces notes peuvent se tourner plus tard dans les articles! Suivre Milena @Milenyim

Plus de messages

Suivez-moi:
Gazouillement

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Délai est épuisé. S'il vous plaît recharger CAPTCHA.

Partager sur Facebook Partager
Loading ...
Partager sur Twitter Tweet
Loading ...
Partager sur Google Plus Partager
Loading ...
Partager sur Linkedin Partager
Loading ...
Partager sur Digg Partager
Partager sur Reddit Partager
Loading ...
Partager sur Stumbleupon Partager
Loading ...

Home > Cyber News > New Malicious Campaign Evades AV Detection, Downloads Spyware
CYBER NEWS

New Malicious Campaign Evades AV Detection, Downloads Spyware

Security researchers have uncovered a new malicious attack that involves well-known exploits with the purpose to circumvent security solutions. The campaign is spreading information stealers, or pieces of sophisticated spyware. More specifically, attackers are spreading a sophisticated information-stealing Trojan known as Agent Tesla, as well as the Loki information stealer.



Agent Tesla Malicious Campaigns – Update August 2019

According to new data, the Agent Tesla malware is currently employing steganography in its latest malspam campaigns. Steganography is the practice of concealing a file, message, image, or video within another file, message, image, or video. In fact, steganography is an old trick in malware distribution, and it literally means hiding code within a regular image which in most cases may not be checked for malware.

Technical Details about the Sophisticated Attack, Evading AV Detection

Security researchers at Cisco Talos detecteda highly suspicious document that wasn’t picked up by common antivirus solutions”.

The attackers behind this new form of attack have deployed a well-known exploit chain. However, it has been modified in such a way that it goes undetected by security solutions.

The Agent Tesla Trojan is designed to steal login information from several pieces of software, such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Outlook, among others. The Trojan can also capture screenshots, record webcams, and allow attackers to install additional malware on infected systems, the researchers said.

The Trojan is also capable of performing other malicious activities such as monitoring and collecting keyboard inputs, system clipboard, taking screenshots, and exfiltrating collected sensitive information. However, the Agent Tesla is not the only piece of malware distributed in this campaign – Loki, another information stealer, is also dropped on victims’ machines.

Two Microsoft Word Exploits Abused: CVE-2017-0199 and CVE-2017-11882

As for the exploits that are used by the adversaries – two public exploits for Microsoft Word vulnerabilities CVE-2017-0199 and CVE-2017-11882 are used in the malicious attack scenario.

The CVE-2017-0199 exploit, in particular, was used in attacks in 2017 when threat actors abused Microsoft Office files which to deliver several malware strains. The unique thing about the incidents is that they used a new strategy by exploiting a relatively new feature that was integrated into the Microsoft Office suite last year.

CVE-2017-11882 is another well-known Microsoft Office exploit which was detected in malicious campaigns in September this year, which were delivering the CobInt Trojan.

The .DOCX File and the RTF File

The current campaign, discovered and analyzed by Cisco Talos, begins with the download of a malicious Microsoft .DOCX file. The file has instructions to download a particular RTF file from the document. This is the activity which is undetected by antivirus products.

According to the researchers:

At the time the file was analyzed, it had almost no detections on the multi-engine antivirus scanning website VirusTotal. Only two out of 58 antivirus programs found anything suspicious. The programs that flagged this sample were only warning about a wrongly formatted RTF file.

The Rich Text Format, or RTF for short, is a proprietary document file format with published specification developed by Microsoft Corporation from 1987 until 2008 for cross-platform document interchange with Microsoft products.

RTF files do not support any macro language, but they do support Microsoft Object Linking and Embedding (OLE) objects and Macintosh Edition Manager subscriber objects via the ‘\object’ control word. The user can link or embed an object from the same or different format into the RTF document.

In other words, it is possible for users to link or embed objects into the RTF file, but obfuscation needs to be added. It should also be noted that anything that the RTF file doesn’t recognize is usually ignored.

The researchers weren’t able to completely understand how the threat actor changed the exploit manually, or if they used a tool to produce the shellcode. “Either way, this shows that the actor or their tools have [the] ability to modify the assembler code in such a way that the resulting opcode bytes look completely different, but still exploit the same vulnerability.”

Security experts are also expecting to see this new technique included in other malicious campaigns delivering other strains of malware.

Milena Dimitrova

An inspired writer and content manager who has been with SensorsTechForum since the project started. A professional with 10+ years of experience in creating engaging content. Focused on user privacy and malware development, she strongly believes in a world where cybersecurity plays a central role. If common sense makes no sense, she will be there to take notes. Those notes may later turn into articles! Follow Milena @Milenyim

More Posts

Follow Me:
Twitter

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share on Facebook Share
Loading...
Share on Twitter Tweet
Loading...
Share on Google Plus Share
Loading...
Share on Linkedin Share
Loading...
Share on Digg Share
Share on Reddit Share
Loading...
Share on Stumbleupon Share
Loading...