Remove "Be sure to read this message!" E-mail Scam
THREAT REMOVAL

Remove “Be sure to read this message!” E-mail Scam

The “Be sure to read this message!” scam appears inside an email, suggesting that a person put a virus on your computer and recorded you “satisfying yourself” to adult content. This is the typical scam trying to blackmail people by imposing that the cybercriminal behind it has actual leverage or access to a person’s computer. The scam is very similar to the “Hello, Perv” email message. People receiving the message are demanded to pay a ransom fee in Bitcoin (the sum being 657 dollars in this email). Do not pay the money in any case as that will not help you. See what you must do in case you are truly breached, but know that this is most likely a scam email.

Threat Summary

NameBe sure to read this message! Scam
TypeEmail Scam Message
Short DescriptionA scam that tries to scare you into paying a ransom fee for a supposed breach of your privacy.
SymptomsYou receive an email message that tries to trick you into thinking that you got recorded while masturbating.
Distribution MethodEmail Spam Messages, Suspicious Sites
Detection Tool See If Your System Has Been Affected by Be sure to read this message! Scam

Download

Malware Removal Tool

User ExperienceJoin Our Forum to Discuss Be sure to read this message! Scam.

“Be sure to read this message!” Scam – Distribution Ways

The “Be sure to read this message!” scam is mainly distributed through e-mail messages that may even be filtered as spam by email providers by now. It could also be using targeted attacks to aim for a bigger payout by companies or rich people. Different distribution tactics may exist, too. For instance, there are mentions of the “Be sure to read this message!” scam over Facebook, and the scareware tactics and doxing may be successful there, just as well.

In case your computer was truly compromised, a payload file that downloads a Trojan horse or some kind of a RAT may have been trigerred by a malicious website or redirect.

Freeware which is found on the Web can be presented as helpful also be hiding the malicious script for the scam message to appear. Refrain from opening files right after you have downloaded them. You should first scan them with a security tool, while also checking their size and signatures for anything that seems out of the ordinary. You should read the tips for preventing ransomware located at the corresponding forum thread.

“Be sure to read this message!” Scam – Technical Data

The “Be sure to read this message!” scam circling around the Internet and might have already reached social media sites such as Facebook. The message is sent over email and is a scareware tye that relies on social engineering. The extortionists want you to pay them for a supposed privacy breach that supposedly gave them access to your camera and recorded you while masturbating.

The email message looks like the following:

The full email scam message reads:

Subject: Be sure to read this message! Your personal data is threatened!

Hello!

As you may have noticed, I sent you an email from your account.
This means that I have full access to your account.

I’ve been watching you for a few months now.
The fact is that you were infected with malware through an adult site that you visited.

If you are not familiar with this, I will explain.
Trojan Virus gives me full access and control over a computer or other device.
This means that I can see everything on your screen, turn on the camera and microphone, but you do not know about it.

I also have access to all your contacts and all your correspondence.

Why your antivirus did not detect malware?
Answer: My malware uses the driver, I update its signatures every 4 hours so that your antivirus is silent.

I made a video showing how you satisfy yourself in the left half of the screen, and in the right half you see the video that you watched.
With one click of the mouse, I can send this video to all your emails and contacts on social networks.
I can also post access to all your e-mail correspondence and messengers that you use.

If you want to prevent this,
transfer the amount of $657 to my bitcoin address (if you do not know how to do this, write to Google: “Buy Bitcoin”).

My bitcoin address (BTC Wallet) is: 1Jh1miFmhTmGQvn6Zejaqg85viD4k1vVjG

After receiving the payment, I will delete the video and you will never hear me again.
I give you 48 hours to pay.
I have a notice reading this letter, and the timer will work when you see this letter.

Filing a complaint somewhere does not make sense because this email cannot be tracked like my bitcoin address.
I do not make any mistakes.

If I find that you have shared this message with someone else, the video will be immediately distributed.

Best wishes!

Other versions may be prevalent on the web such as the

The "Hello Perv" scam appears inside an email, suggesting that a person put a virus on your computer and recorded you masturbating to adult content.
“Hello Perv” Email Scam.

There are a number of possibilities, but in most cases this is an absolute scam. You should ignore it. Do not reply to it. Do not pay the cybercriminals behind it. Change your account passwords, but first make sure your computer is clean from viruses and keylogging software. Also, check if you are changing passwords from the correct places and not from phishing pages.

Below you can see the Bitcoin address given to you to pay cybercriminals:

  • 1Jh1miFmhTmGQvn6Zejaqg85viD4k1vVjG Bitcoin Email Scam

You are demanded to pay “657 dollars” to allegedly not spread your personal pictures and files to family and friends. However, you should NOT under any circumstances pay any ransom sum. No guarantee exists that your “data” is not going to be leaked even if you pay. This is known as doxing – an extortion involving the threat of releasing personal information, photos or videos which might be embarassing or otherwise unwanted by the person being extorted. Adding to all of this, giving money to cybercriminals will most likely motivate them to create more ransomware scams, “viruses” or commit different criminal activities. That may even result to the criminals wanting more money after payment.

Be sure that even if personal details or credentials got leaked from a database breach you should not do what the extortionists ask you to do. If you have any accounts still using an old password, be certain to change those and make sure you use a different password for each account. If you can, enable two-factor authentication on the accounts.

Remove “Be sure to read this message!” Scam

To remove the Be sure to read this message! scam you should simply delete the email message. However, if you are truly breached and you recognize any of the listed passwords, you should see the step-by-step removal instructions provided below. In case you can not get rid of files related to the scam or find out other malicious ones, you should search for and remove any leftover malware pieces with an advanced anti-malware tool. Software like that will keep your system secure in the future.

Tsetso Mihailov

Tsetso Mihailov

Tsetso Mihailov is a tech-geek and loves everything that is tech-related, while observing the latest news surrounding technologies. He has worked in IT before, as a system administrator and a computer repair technician. Dealing with malware since his teens, he is determined to spread word about the latest threats revolving around computer security.

More Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Share on Facebook Share
Loading...
Share on Twitter Tweet
Loading...
Share on Google Plus Share
Loading...
Share on Linkedin Share
Loading...
Share on Digg Share
Share on Reddit Share
Loading...
Share on Stumbleupon Share
Loading...