This article has been created in order to explain what is the “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” and how to remove it completely from your computer.
The “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” tech support scam is the type of unwanted web page which you do not wish to see. The scamming message aims to trick inexperienced users into calling a fake tech support number, whose primary purpose may be to ask you to pay a hefty sum of money in order to fix a problem that does not exist. In addition to this, if you want to remove the “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” scam, it is strongly recommended to read this article and learn more about it and how to make sure this doesn’t happen to you in the future as well.
|Name||"Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted" Scam|
|Type||Tech Support Scam|
|Short Description||Aims to get you to call a fake tech support number and ask you to pay to fix a problem.|
|Symptoms||A browser redirect results in your browser getting locked by a web page with several pop-ups which cannot be closed.|
|Distribution Method||Via potentially unwanted programs or web pages, both of which may cause browser redirects to it.|
|Detection Tool|| See If Your System Has Been Affected by "Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted" Scam |
Malware Removal Tool
|User Experience||Join Our Forum to Discuss "Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted" Scam.|
“Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” Scam – Distribution
The main way via which the “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” scam is by slithering it’s web page to you via a browser redirection. Such redirects are often caused by unwanted programs, like adware or browser hijackers which may reside in the user’s computer. Such programs are often believed to be multiple different types PUPs that come into your PC as a result of software bundling. This means that you may have downloaded a free program from a software providing website and during the course of installation you may have added adware. Such apps often hide themselves behind the pretext they are “free extras”, however all they do is show advertisements that lead to third-party websites, like the “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” web page.
“Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” – Purpose and Activity
Once you see the “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” web page, it immediately becomes clear that to close it, you have to close your web browser. This is because the web page introduces a pop-up on your computer via a script. This script’s primary purpose is to also display what appears to be an audio message and it’s end goal is to make you believe that you have a virus in your computer.
And to further complicate the situation and make you call the tech support number, the “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” scam has the following message in a pop-up which appears above the first pop-up introduced by the web page:
Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted If you Close This Page
You have a virus. Please call technical support now. Call the toll free number on your screen then press 1 to speak to an agent and stop this process.
Hard drive safety delete will start in 5 minutes.
And the scamming screen cannot close the tab, which is not exactly an issue, but if the user is inexperienced and has not seen such a tech support scam before, they might resort to calling the number displayed.
Once called, the people on the other side will pretend that they are official Microsoft Tech Support team, that can help you solve your issue. If you get in touch with these people, be advised that they are a scammers and you should not pay them anything as they will want from you to transfer a huge sum of money that is often negotiable. And not only this, but the call with these scammers can pose a threat to you, because the number you may be calling may have roaming enabled or may generate you impulses that are paid, resulting in a phone bill which will make your head ache.
This is why, if you encounter such web pages, do not panic, close your web browser and open another one after which remove this scamming web page and the intrusive software that may be causing such browser redirections on your computer if there is one.
Remove “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted If you Close This Page” Scam
In order to fully get rid of this tech support scam, we recommend that you follow the removal instructions underneath this article. They have been created in order to best help you secure your PC either manually or automatically. Be advised that you can remove the scam manually if you have the experience, but in order to make sure that it does not come back in the future automatic removal is often advisable. This is because such ad-supported programs that cause browser redirects and other ads to appear are often hidden behind seemingly legitimate names or often remain silently residing In one of the Program Files folders on your PC. This is why, for maximum effectiveness, security researchers strongly recommend to download and scan your computer, using an advanced anti-malware software. Such program will effectively make sure that the unwanted programs causing such pop-ups are detected and removed and your PC remains secure.
After this, you can clear the cache of your web browser and also clear the cookies and browsing history after remembering your passwords. This will result in the complete eradication of the “Warning! Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted If you Close This Page” scam from your computer system.