Hé toi,
ÊTRE EN SAVOIR!

35,000 infections ransomware par mois et vous croyez toujours que vous êtes protégé?

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir:

  • alertes
  • nouvelles
  • gratuit comment-remove-guides

des menaces les plus récentes en ligne - directement à votre boîte de réception:


Quel est le navigateur le plus sécurisé pour 2016 - Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer, Safari

homme-tasse de café-plume
Image Source: Pexels.com

Lorsque vous choisissez votre navigateur(s), Est Sécurité Votre principale préoccupation?

Inutile de dire, cette question est cruciale. Le navigateur est votre lien avec le monde en ligne, et le plus sûr, il est, le plus sûr vous vous sentirez tout en explorant. Cependant, la sécurité ne repose pas uniquement sur le navigateur lui-même, mais aussi sur vos propres habitudes de surf (et sur l'ordre du jour et les capacités des attaquants, trop). D'autres questions, et respectivement leurs réponses, devraient également être pris en considération:

  • Ne mettez à jour votre navigateur vous à chaque fois qu'une nouvelle version est disponible?
  • Avez-vous configuré les mises à jour de votre navigateur comme automatique?
  • Est-ce que vous utilisez navigateur tiers add-ons et plugins, et si oui,, êtes-vous familier avec leurs développeurs?
  • Avez-vous d'installer un logiciel tiers de téléchargement inconnus pages, sans prêter attention à l'accord de téléchargement?

Avant de procéder, nous devons préciser que le téléchargement de logiciels à partir de sites Web au hasard se termine souvent par une extension non désirée et persistante (add-on), attaché à votre navigateur. Pour éviter de télécharger les offres groupées et de compromettre à la fois votre navigateur et de système, toujours aller lentement à travers la configuration de l'installation et décochez les applications indésirables. Ou mieux - seulement télécharger à partir de sources dignes de confiance et vous épargner les maux de tête enlever CHIOTS.

METTRE À JOUR 2017! Check-out le navigateur le plus sécurisé pour 2017!

Maintenant, Revenons à la question. En plus de vérifier fréquemment avec vos propres habitudes de navigation, il y a une chose que vous devez faire. Recherche. La recherche de vos navigateurs avant de les utiliser.

Nous sommes là pour vous aider. Décrivant le plus sûr ou relativement le navigateur le plus sécurisé a été notre priorité au cours des deux dernières années:

Quel est le navigateur le plus sécurisé pour 2014?
Quel est le navigateur le plus sécurisé pour 2015?

Avant de répondre à la même question pour 2016, nous avons d'abord décidé de demander ce que vous, nos lecteurs, pensé par l'intermédiaire d'un sondage qui a été actif sur notre site Web 11 journées. 603 personnes ont participé à notre petit sondage. Peut-être que vous étiez l'un d'entre eux?

Voici les résultats:

  • La grande majorité de nos utilisateurs pensent que Google Chrome est le navigateur le plus sécurisé - 49% ou 296 votes;
  • Suivant est Mozilla Firefox avec 31% des votes, ou 187 électeurs;
  • 7% ou 43 les électeurs pensent que Internet Explorer est le navigateur le plus sûr;
  • Safari et Opera ont tous deux 4% de votre confiance, ou 25 votes;
  • Microsoft Edge est à côté avec 3%, ou 19 votes;
  • Maxthon est peut-être moins connu et est au fond avec 1% ou 9 votes.

Note. Plus tard, nous avons ajouté 2 d'autres navigateurs dans notre recherche - Epic Browser et Avira Scout.

Si, Quel est le navigateur le plus sécurisé pour 2016?

qui-est-le-plus-secure-navigateur-2016-3

Beaucoup de facteurs sont inclus dans la fabrication d'un certain navigateur sécurisé. La part d'un navigateur du marché détermine connu et sûr, il est, ainsi que le degré de sécurité des utilisateurs se sentent à l'utiliser. Avec une base d'utilisateurs plus grand d'un navigateur particulier, il est plus probable pour les pirates de vouloir attaquer les utilisateurs en trouvant des vulnérabilités à exploiter.

Les plus de vulnérabilités et les attaques d'un navigateur a, le plus rapide de ses mises à jour doivent venir à l'utilisateur final. Garder un navigateur fréquemment mis à jour avec toutes les vulnérabilités nouvellement trouvés rapiécés et fixes dans le temps va garder ses utilisateurs heureux et sécuriser.

Ceux-ci seront également les principaux points en termes de laquelle notre 2016 la recherche présentera les navigateurs:

  • Part de marché
  • la fréquence des mises à jour
  • Sécurité
  • Add-ons liées à la sécurité - la disponibilité

Note Il n'y aura pas de classement classement spécifique comme chaque navigateur a quelque chose d'unique. Les navigateurs seront positionnés par des parts de marché, ou en d'autres termes,, le navigateur avec la plus grande part de marché sera d'abord analysé, puis le reste avec moins d'actions, dans un ordre décroissant. Aussi, les statistiques pour les parts de marché utilisées dans cet article ont été prises à partir de Net Applications.

Internet Explorer

  • La plus grande part de marché
  • Mise à jour tous les 30 journées
  • protection de suivi
  • Ad-block add-ons disponibles

Internet Explorer détient toujours la plus grande part sur le marché mondial, combiné avec Microsoft bord – 43.40%. Cela ne veut pas surprenant que le système d'exploitation Windows contient environ 90% du marché mondial actuel pour les utilisateurs de bureau.

Ça prend 30 jours pour une mise à jour être libéré. Cette Janvier, le soutien a été abandonné pour IE 8 et IE 10 versions du navigateur Web, pour Windows XP et Windows Vista, respectivement. Internet Explorer dispose d'un mode de navigation InPrivate, qui ne laissera aucune trace de vos requêtes de recherche ou de l'histoire. Il dispose également d'une protection de suivi et vous permet de gérer des add-ons pour ajouter une couche supplémentaire de sécurité, comme un ad-bloquant.

Microsoft bord

  • 1/6 de la part de marché pour Windows
  • Mise à jour plus fréquemment que IE
  • mode de navigation InPrivate (fixé)
  • Aucune annonce-bloquant natif, mais d'autres peuvent être utilisés

Microsoft détient environ Bord 1/6 de la part totale de marché pour les utilisateurs de bureau Windows. Il est la nouvelle variante améliorée d'Internet Explorer.

Mises à jour sont incompatibles, mais plus fréquents que ceux de IE, parce que de nouvelles fonctionnalités sont encore ajoutés. Le 9 Février une mise à jour a été libéré fixant un bug avec le InPrivate mode de navigation. Le bug consistait informations mises en cache étant disponible après avoir sélectionné le mode privé.

Ce Mars, support a été ajouté pour extensions dans le navigateur. Les ingénieurs travaillant sur le navigateur dit qu'ils ne seront pas mis un ad-bloqueur natif, car avec les extensions étant disponibles, il est maintenant possible pour les utilisateurs de définir un manuellement si elles préfèrent.

Google Chrome

  • 39.09% de la part de marché
  • Mise à jour tous les 15 journées
  • Les vulnérabilités sont rapidement fixés et appliqués à tous les projets de chrome
  • Aucune annonce-bloquant natif, extension externe peut être utilisé

Chrome le navigateur de Google détient 39.09% de la part de marché plaçant juste après les navigateurs Microsoft. Il peut même être spéculé que bientôt Google Chrome va les renverser, devenant ainsi le numéro un navigateur, préféré par les utilisateurs de PC. Google est proche de cet objectif, car ils ont tendance à fixer les vulnérabilités dans leur navigateur dès que possible.

Mises à jour pour Chrome viennent dans une base de 15 jours, étant le navigateur mis à jour le plus rapide. Non seulement que, mais ces mises à jour sont disponibles pour tous les autres navigateurs basés sur leur projet de chrome ce qui les rend plus sûr. Non seulement ce navigateur possède les mises à jour les plus rapides, il a aussi un de la charge la plus rapide et les temps de page de visualisation.

Le chrome est open source, donc plus de gens qui travaillent sur le code font pour conclure plus rapidement des vulnérabilités. Il y a aucun add-ons indigènes pour la protection inclus avec l'installation du navigateur, mais vous pouvez définir des extensions pour bloquer les annonces, Flash etc.

Chrome dispose également d'un mode de navigation privée, appelé Incognito.

Mozilla Firefox

  • 10.54% part de marché
  • Mise à jour tous les 28 journées
  • Chaque nuit, Beta et Developer Edition
  • Aucune annonce-bloquant natif, extension externe peut être utilisé

Mozilla Firefox a autour 12 ans d'histoire, et est devenu l'un des navigateurs les plus populaires et préférés d'aujourd'hui. Avec une part de marché 10.54%, le navigateur a été seulement de plus en plus en termes de communauté, caractéristiques et options de confidentialité. Avec une période de 28 jours entre les mises à jour, Firefox a fait une construction fiable avec seulement une petite fenêtre pour les cyber-criminels d'exploiter de nouvelles vulnérabilités.

Firefox a quelques versions d'accès précoce en aidant la communauté pour tester de nouvelles fonctionnalités et de trouver plus rapidement les vulnérabilités. Ils sont divisés en trois canaux – Chaque nuit, Beta et Developer Edition. Firefox dispose d'un mode de navigation privée, qui comprend également la protection de poursuite. Il ne vient pas avec en-construit add-ons, mais il y a beaucoup de choix, y compris ad-bloquants, bloquants Flash, etc.

Firefox est un excellent navigateur tout autour qui est livré avec des mises à jour rapides, une interface conviviale, l'utilisation de lumière et est facilement modifiable. Il dispose également d'un virus de contrôle pour chaque téléchargement que vous faites.

Safari

  • 4.87% part de marché
  • Mise à jour tous les 54 journées
  • Moins de défauts par rapport à d'autres navigateurs
  • les fenêtres de navigation privée, la protection contre les sites préjudiciables, tiers blocage des cookies et sandboxing

le navigateur Safari d'Apple détient seulement 4.87% de toutes les parts de marché, mais il faut s'y attendre. La version disponible pour Windows a été interrompu avant 2012, et est devenu obsolète.

Safari a une période de mise à jour 54 journées. Il est un navigateur moins utilisé puisque la majorité des utilisateurs de bureau préfèrent utiliser le système d'exploitation Windows sur Mac. Plus, il y a moins de vulnérabilités trouvées dans ce navigateur par rapport à la plupart des autres plus populaires. Ainsi, le temps de mise à jour est suffisante.

Pomme, en tant que société, a toujours soutenu la vie privée et à la sécurité. Ne pas demander que Safari est livré avec privée fenêtres de navigation, la protection contre les sites préjudiciables, tiers blocage des cookies et un sandboxing unique pour les sites Web.

Il est soutenu à ce jour que Mac et Safari sont plus sécurisé que Windows et d'autres navigateurs.

Opéra

  • 1.66% part de marché
  • Mise à jour tous les 48 journées
  • Moins de défauts par rapport à d'autres navigateurs
  • navigation privée, pop-up blocage et extensions supportées

Le navigateur Opera a une 1.66% part de marché, mais il est toujours une bonne option à considérer pour la sécurité de la navigation. 48 jours sont nécessaires pour les développeurs d'envoyer des mises à jour, mais beaucoup comme Safari - moins de vulnérabilités se trouvent tout autour de la carte.

navigation privée, pop-up de blocage et extensions sont tous pris en charge par Opera. Le navigateur est également disponible pour Windows, les systèmes d'exploitation Mac OS X et Linux.

Opera a toujours été très innovante. Ceci est le navigateur qui a créé Tabs et a été le premier à les mettre en œuvre.

D'autres navigateurs: Honorable Mentions

Tous les autres navigateurs détiennent un total de 0.44% part de marché. Les navigateurs suivants sont des mentions honorables, qui méritent une place dans cet article.

Maxthon

Le navigateur Maxthon a gagné en popularité il y a quelques années quand il a été acclamé le navigateur le plus rapide à ce moment-là avec Mozilla Firefox vient en deuxième. Le navigateur a en fait plus que 10 ans d'histoire, mais elle est peu utilisée. la fréquence de mise à jour varie de 3 à 15 journées qui est relativement rapide. Le navigateur peut charger des pages écrites à la fois dans WebKit et les moteurs de rendu Trident, alors que la plupart des navigateurs peuvent lire un seul de ces types de moteurs sur HTML5.

Extensions sont disponibles pour Maxthon et il est livré avec un programme ad-bloquant AdBlockPlus en construction.

Maxthon est un navigateur cloud, ce qui en fait l'un des navigateurs les plus rapides sur le Web. Il est également disponible pour un grand nombre de systèmes d'exploitation et les types de dispositifs. Les cookies et l'histoire sont stockés localement sur chaque dispositif, afin que les utilisateurs peuvent essuyer toutes les données facilement.

Épique

Épique, également connu sous le nom Confidentialité Epic Browser est centrée exactement sur la vie privée. Il est à base de chrome, donc les temps de mise à jour devrait être par rapport à ceux de Google Chrome. Il a la disponibilité d'extension limitée à des extensions dans Epic Webstore. Tous les autres extensions sont bloquées en raison de problèmes de confidentialité.

Ce navigateur dispose pour atteindre une véritable vie privée sur Internet. Y compris toutes les caractéristiques d'autres navigateurs ont en termes de navigation privée, celui-ci n'a pas de cache DNS et Web, aucune vérification de l'URL ou l'URL Tracker, aucun numéro de rapport d'erreur ou RLZ-Tracking. Pas de suggestions et options d'auto-remplissage, etc.

Les caractéristiques les plus notables sont la protection de recherche améliorée, annonce complète et blocage tracker, et un seul clic proxy crypté. Epic navigateur prétend que leur proxy, il est impossible, même pour votre fournisseur Internet de recherche ou de gouvernement pour vous suivre! Epic façon que?

Avira scout

Avira Scout est le plus récent ajout aux navigateurs construit pour la sécurité. Il est basé sur le projet Chromium, donc les mises à jour devraient arriver dans le même 15 laps de temps jour. Il dispose d'un mélange d'extensions de source ouverte mis en oeuvre dans ce. Elle est faite par les développeurs de Avira Anti-Virus, et utilise la base de données Avira pour une meilleure protection contre les codes malveillants à travers l'Internet.

HTTPS Everywhere et confidentialité Badger sont à l'intérieur du code du navigateur, mais caché dans la page des extensions. Le navigateur ne recueille aucune donnée et arrête les réseaux sociaux comme Facebook et Twitter pour vous suivre, ainsi que tous les autres sites. Même lorsque ce navigateur est âgé seulement environ deux mois, et encore dans sa phase Early Access, il ressemble déjà le navigateur le plus sécurisé de 2016.

Berta Bilbao

Berta est le rédacteur en chef de SensorsTechForum. Elle est un chercheur dédié malware, rêver pour un cyber espace plus sûr.

Plus de messages - Site Internet

  • James B. DiGriz

    Je vais faire la liste des navigateurs sécurisés courts:
    1. TOR (mais pas pour tout le monde!)
    2. Épique (hautement sécurisé et minimaliste, presque parfait)
    3. Comodo dragon de / Icedragon (sûr et polyvalent). Surtout Icedragon, car il est basé sur Firefox.

    Tous les autres navigateurs sont une blague.

    • MilenaDimitroff

      Bonjour James,

      TOR est pas vraiment aussi sûr qu'il semble. Pour un, (l'info est de Wiki) une Sybil attaque notable (en liaison avec une attaque de confirmation de la circulation) a été lancée contre le réseau d'anonymat Tor pendant plusieurs mois 2014 par des inconnus. Beaucoup dans la communauté de la sécurité du réseau soupçonner la NSA / CIA pour être responsable de l'attaque, et certains pensent que l'attaque pourrait être liée à l'enquête sur le site Web de Silk Road.

      Pour autant que je sache, les versions précédentes de Comodo dragon ont été pris en charge ad. Corrigez-moi si je me trompe ou si la dernière version est sans publicité.

      • James B. DiGriz

        salut Milena,

        Oui et non. TOR est pas parfait, si votre objectif est d'éviter les logiciels malveillants typique, annonces et suivi, sans se livrer à une activité anti-gouvernement, Il fait le travail. TOR est pas quelque chose que vous venez d'installer et tout fonctionne par lui-même. Vous pouvez le configurer en tant de manières (si vous savez comment!), de sorte que même la NSA / CIA ne vous traquer. Cependant, comme je l'ai dit, ce n'est pas pour tout le monde. Sauf si vous êtes un vrai geek et ont trop de temps libre, ou votre travail est lié à elle.

        Aucun des navigateurs de Comodo, si dragon, Icedragon ou Chromodo sont ad-supported, et je l'ai été de les utiliser (en particulier IceDargon – hautement recommandé!) depuis plusieurs années. Vous devez avoir confondu avec autre chose. Même pas sûr comment un navigateur (which has all the ad-blocking ads-ons) can be ad-supported. 🙂

        Personally, I just use IceDragon (with uBlock and Ghostery) and Epic as secondary browser.

        I’ve tried and checked other browsers built around Chromium or Firefox, and imo Comodo did the best job in optimizing them and making them safer. Pale Moon is also an interesting attempt to tweak Firefox, and they have very light version for older machines. Epic is also a great adaptation of Chromium’s source code.

        • MilenaDimitroff

          Hey there,

          Ad-supportedI meant ads coming from Comodo itself, like when you install a bundled package of software from CNET or DownloadEven though these ads may not be coming from the vendor but from the download platform, affiliate marketing can be quite annoying 🙂 Nonetheless, I will be looking into those browsers, thanks for the recommendation 🙂

        • MilenaDimitroff

          From Comodo IceDragon License Agreement: Third Party Extensions and Programs. Comodo browsers may include third party extensions for blocking, la suppression, prestation, or replacing advertisements. The third party extensions may show you a limited number of ads on your screen.
          en dessous de 7. Disclaimers and Limitation of Liability.

    • Brandon Camilleri

      Out of your list only TOR is fully compatible with Linux.
      Cela dit, it’s extensive configuration will put off many L. utilisateurs.
      Me amongst.

S'il vous plaît, attendez...

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

Vous voulez être averti lorsque notre article est publié? Entrez votre adresse e-mail et le nom ci-dessous pour être le premier à savoir.

Hey you,
BE IN THE KNOW!

35,000 ransomware infections per month and you still believe you are protected?

Sign up to receive:

  • alerts
  • news
  • free how-to-remove guides

of the newest online threats - directly to your inbox:


Which Is the Most Secure Browser for 2016 – Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer, Safari

man-coffee-cup-pen
Image Source: Pexels.com

When You Choose Your Browser(s), Is Security Your Main Concern?

Needless to say, this question is crucial. The browser is your connection to the online world, and the more secure it is, the safer you will feel while exploring. However, security doesn’t only depend on the browser itself, but also on your own surfing habits (and on the attackers’ agenda and capabilities, too). Other questions, and respectively their answers, should also be taken into consideration:

  • Do you update your browser whenever a new version is available?
  • Have you configured your browser updates as automatic?
  • Do you use third-party browser add-ons and plugins, and if yes, are you familiar with their developers?
  • Do you install third party software from unknown download pages, without paying attention to the Download Agreement?

Before proceeding, we should clarify that downloading software from random websites often ends with an unwanted and persistent extension (add-on), attached to your browser. To avoid downloading bundled packages and compromising both your browser and system, always go slowly through the installation setup and uncheck unwanted apps. Or better – only download from trustworthy sources and spare yourself the headache of removing PUPs.

Now, let’s return to the topic. Besides frequently checking with your own browsing habits, there’s one more thing you should do. Research. Research your browsers prior to using them.

We’re here to help you. Outlining the most secure or relatively the most secure browser has been our priority during the last couple of years:

Which is the most secure browser for 2014?
Which is the most secure browser for 2015?

Before answering the very same question for 2016, we first decided to ask what you, our readers, thought via a poll that was active on our website for 11 days. 603 people participated in our little survey. Perhaps you were one of them?

Here are the results:

  • The vast majority of our users believe that Google Chrome is the most secure browser – 49% or 296 votes;
  • Next is Mozilla Firefox with 31% of votes, or 187 voters;
  • 7% or 43 voters think that Internet Explorer is the safest browser;
  • Safari and Opera both got 4% of your trust, or 25 votes;
  • Microsoft Edge is next with 3%, or 19 votes;
  • Maxthon is perhaps less known and is at the bottom with 1% or 9 votes.

Note. Later on, we added 2 more browsers in our research – Epic Browser and Avira Scout.

So, Which Is The Most Secure Browser for 2016?

which-is-the-most-secure-browser-2016-3

A lot of factors are included in making a certain browser secure. The market share of a browser determines how known and trusted it is, as well as how safe the users feel about using it. With a bigger user base of a particular browser, it is more likely for hackers to want to attack those users by finding vulnerabilities to exploit.

The more vulnerabilities and attacks a browser has, the faster its updates should come to the end user. Keeping a browser frequently updated with all newly-found vulnerabilities patched and fixed in time will keep its users happy and secure.

These will also be the main points in terms of which our 2016 research will present the browsers:

  • Market share
  • Updates frequency
  • Security
  • Add-ons related to security – availability

Note There will be no specific ranking classification as every browser has something unique. The browsers will be positioned by market share, or in other words, the browser with the biggest market share will be analyzed first, and then the rest with fewer shares, in a descending order. Also, the statistics for market shares used in this article have been taken from Net Applications.

Internet Explorer

  • Biggest market share
  • Updated every 30 days
  • Tracking protection
  • Ad-block add-ons available

Internet Explorer still holds the biggest share on the world market, combined with Microsoft Edge – 43.40%. This is not surprising as the Windows operating system holds around 90% of the current world market for desktop users.

It takes 30 days for an update to be released. This January, support was dropped for IE 8 and IE 10 versions of the web browser, for Windows XP and Windows Vista, respectively. Internet Explorer has InPrivate browsing mode, which will leave no trace of your search queries or history. It also features tracking protection and you can manage add-ons to add an extra layer of security, such as an ad-blocker.

Microsoft Edge

  • 1/6 of the market share for Windows desktop
  • Updated more frequently than IE
  • InPrivate browsing mode (fixed)
  • No native ad-blocker, but others can be used

Microsoft Edge holds around 1/6 of the total market share for Windows desktop users. It is the new and improved variant of Internet Explorer.

Updates are inconsistent, but more frequent than those of IE, because new features are still being added. On the 9th of February an update was released fixing a bug with the InPrivate browsing mode. The bug consisted of cached information being available after selecting the private mode.

This March, support was added for extensions in the browser. Engineers working on the browser said that they won’t put a native ad-blocker, because with the extensions being available, it is now possible for users to set one manually if they prefer.

Google Chrome

  • 39.09% of the market share
  • Updated every 15 days
  • Vulnerabilities are quickly fixed and applied to All Chromium projects
  • No native ad-blocker, external extension can be used

Google’s Chrome browser holds 39.09% of the market share placing it right after the Microsoft browsers. It can even be speculated that soon Google Chrome will overthrow them, becoming the number one browser, preferred by PC users. Google is close to that goal because they tend to fix the vulnerabilities in their browser as soon as possible.

Updates for Chrome come in a 15-day basis, being the browser updated the fastest. Not only that, but those updates become available for all other browsers based on their Chromium project making them more secure. Not only this browser has the fastest updates, it also has one of the fastest load and page-viewing times.

Chromium is open source, so more people working on the code make for faster finding of vulnerabilities. There are no native add-ons for protection included with the browser’s installation, but you can set extensions for blocking ads, Flash etc.

Chrome also has a private browsing mode, called Incognito.

Mozilla Firefox

  • 10.54% market share
  • Updated every 28 days
  • Nightly, Beta and Developer Edition
  • No native ad-blocker, external extension can be used

Mozilla Firefox has around 12 years of history, and has become one of the popular and preferred browsers of today. With a market share of 10.54%, the browser has been only growing in terms of community, features and privacy options. With a period of 28 days between updates, Firefox has made a reliable build with only a small window for cyber criminals to exploit new vulnerabilities.

Firefox has a few early access versions helping the community to test new features and find vulnerabilities faster. They are divided into three channels – Nightly, Beta and Developer Edition. Firefox has a Private browsing mode, which also includes tracking protection. It doesn’t come with in-built add-ons, but there are many to choose from, including ad-blockers, Flash blockers, etc.

Firefox is a great all-around browser which comes with fast updates, a user-friendly interface, light usage and is easily modifiable. It also has a virus-check for every download you make.

Safari

  • 4.87% market share
  • Updated every 54 days
  • Fewer flaws compared to other browsers
  • Private browsing windows, protection from harmful sites, third-party cookie blocking and sandboxing

Apple’s Safari browser holds only 4.87% of all market shares, but that is to be expected. The version available for Windows was discontinued back in 2012, and became obsolete.

Safari has an update period of 54 days. It is a less used browser since the majority of desktop users prefer to use the Windows OS over Mac. Plus, there are a fewer vulnerabilities found in this browser compared to most other popular ones. So the update time is adequate.

Apple, as a company, has always supported privacy and security. Not to wonder that Safari comes with private browsing windows, protection from harmful sites, third-party cookie blocking and a unique sandboxing for websites.

It is argued to this day that Mac and Safari are more secure than Windows and other browsers.

Opera

  • 1.66% market share
  • Updated every 48 days
  • Fewer flaws compared to other browsers
  • Private browsing, pop-up blocking and extensions supported

The Opera browser has a 1.66% market share, but it is still a good option to consider for browsing security. 48 days are needed for the developers to send in updates, but much like Safari – fewer vulnerabilities are found all around the board.

Private browsing, pop-up blocking and extensions are all supported by Opera. The browser is also available for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux operating systems.

Opera has always been very innovative. This is the browser that created Tabs and was the first one to implement them.

Other Browsers: Honorable Mentions

All other browsers hold a total of 0.44% market share. The following browsers are honorable mentions, which deserve a spot in this article.

Maxthon

The Maxthon browser gained popularity a few years ago when it was acclaimed the fastest browser at that time with Mozilla Firefox coming in second. The browser actually has more than 10 years of history, but it is not commonly used. Update frequency varies from 3 to 15 days which is relatively fast. The browser can load pages written both in WebKit and Trident rendering engines, while most browsers can read only one of these engine types on HTML5.

Extensions are available for Maxthon and it comes with an in-built ad-blocker program AdBlockPlus.

Maxthon is a cloud browser, making it one of the fastest browsers on the Web. It is also available for a large number of operating systems and device types. Cookies and history are stored locally on each device, so users can wipe clean all of the data easily.

Epic

Epic, also known as Epic Privacy Browser is centered exactly on privacy. It is based on Chromium, so update times should be relative to those of Google Chrome. It has limited extension availability to extensions in Epic Webstore. All other extensions are blocked due to privacy concerns.

This browser states to achieve real privacy on the Internet. Including all features other browsers have in terms of private browsing, this one has no DNS and Web cache, no URL check or URL tracker, no error reporting or RLZ-Tracking number. No suggestions and auto-filling options, etc.

The most notable features are the enhanced search protection, comprehensive ad and tracker blocking, and one-click encrypted proxy. Epic browser claims that their proxy makes it impossible for even your Internet search provider or government to track you! How Epic is that?

Avira Scout

Avira Scout is the newest addition to browsers built for security. It is based on the Chromium project, so updates should arrive in the same 15 day time frame. It has a mixture of open-source extensions implemented in it. It is made by the developers of Avira Anti-Virus, and uses the database of Avira for a better protection against malicious code across the Internet.

HTTPS Everywhere and Privacy Badger are inside the browser’s code, but hidden in the extensions page. The browser does not collect any data and stops social networks like Facebook and Twitter to track you, as well as all other sites. Even when this browser is only around two months old and still in its Early Access stage, it already looks like the most secure browser of 2016.

Berta Bilbao

Berta is the Editor-in-Chief of SensorsTechForum. She is a dedicated malware researcher, dreaming for a more secure cyber space.

More Posts - Website

  • James B. DiGriz

    I’ll make the list of secure browsers shorter:
    1. TOR (but not for everyone!)
    2. Epic (highly secure and minimalistic, nearly perfect)
    3. Comodo Dragon / IceDragon (secure and versatile). Especially IceDragon, as it is based on Firefox.

    All other browsers are a joke.

    • MilenaDimitroff

      Hi James,

      TOR is not really as safe as it seems. For one, (the info is from Wiki) a notable Sybil attack (in conjunction with a traffic confirmation attack) was launched against the Tor anonymity network for several months in 2014 by unknown perpetrators. Many in the network security community suspect the NSA/CIA to be responsible for the attack, and some speculate that the attack may have been connected to the investigation into the Silk Road website.

      As far as I know, previous versions of Comodo Dragon were ad-supported. Correct me if I’m wrong or if the latest version is ad-free.

      • James B. DiGriz

        Hi Milena,

        Yes and No. TOR is not perfect, however if your goal is to avoid typical malware, ads and tracking, while not engaging in any anti-government activity, it gets the job done. TOR is not something you just install and everything works by itself. You can configure it in so many ways (if you know how!), so even NSA/CIA won’t track you down. However, like I said, it’s not for everyone. Unless you are a real geek and have too much free time, or your work is related to it.

        None of Comodo’s browsers, whether Dragon, IceDragon or Chromodo are ad-supported, and I’ve been using them (especially IceDargon – highly recommended!) for several years now. You must have confused it with something else. Not even sure how a browser (which has all the ad-blocking ads-ons) can be ad-supported. 🙂

        Personally, I just use IceDragon (with uBlock and Ghostery) and Epic as secondary browser.

        I’ve tried and checked other browsers built around Chromium or Firefox, and imo Comodo did the best job in optimizing them and making them safer. Pale Moon is also an interesting attempt to tweak Firefox, and they have very light version for older machines. Epic is also a great adaptation of Chromium’s source code.

        • MilenaDimitroff

          Hey there,

          Ad-supported – I meant ads coming from Comodo itself, like when you install a bundled package of software from CNET or Download…Even though these ads may not be coming from the vendor but from the download platform, affiliate marketing can be quite annoying 🙂 Nonetheless, I will be looking into those browsers, thanks for the recommendation 🙂

        • MilenaDimitroff

          From Comodo IceDragon License Agreement: Third Party Extensions and Programs. Comodo browsers may include third party extensions for blocking, removing, delivering, or replacing advertisements. The third party extensions may show you a limited number of ads on your screen.
          under 7. Disclaimers and Limitation of Liability.

    • Brandon Camilleri

      Out of your list only TOR is fully compatible with Linux.
      Having said that, it’s extensive configuration will put off many L. users.
      Me amongst.

Share on Facebook Share
Loading...
Share on Twitter Tweet
Loading...
Share on Google Plus Share
Loading...
Share on Linkedin Share
Loading...
Share on Digg Share
Share on Reddit Share
Loading...
Share on Stumbleupon Share
Loading...
Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.