"Your Computer Has Been Locked" (Google Security Scam) – How to Remove
THREAT REMOVAL

“Your Computer Has Been Locked” (Google Security Scam) – How to Remove

OFFER

SCAN YOUR PC
with SpyHunter

Scan Your System for Malicious Files
Note! Your computer might be affected by "Your computer has been Locked" Scam and other threats.
Threats such as "Your computer has been Locked" Scam may be persistent on your system. They tend to re-appear if not fully deleted. A malware removal tool like SpyHunter will help you to remove malicious programs, saving you the time and the struggle of tracking down numerous malicious files.
SpyHunter’s scanner is free but the paid version is needed to remove the malware threats. Read SpyHunter’s EULA and Privacy Policy

This article has been created in order to explain what is the fake warning message, called “Google Security Warning” asking to call the number +1-844-843-5125 and show how to remove the unwanted program introducing such messages on your computer.

A new tech support scam site has been detected by security experts. The scamming website aims to introduce a red screen which says that your computer has been locked and give a tech support number to call to fix the Zeus virus infection. If you see such a screen, be advised that your computer has not been infected with the Zeus Banking Trojan and this is simple Tech Support scam, most likely causing a redirect to your computer as a result of a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) which is displaying different advertisements on your PC. If you see the Your computer has been Locked screen on your PC, we recommend that you read the following article and learn how to remove this unwanted software from your computer safely and completely.

Threat Summary

Name"Your computer has been Locked" Scam
TypeTech Support Scam
Short DescriptionIntroduces a fake warning screen, claiming that the victim’s computer is at risk. Asks to call a tech support number that is fake.
SymptomsVictims might see a warning screen asking them to call the number +1-844-843-5125.
Distribution MethodBundled downloads. Web pages which may cause redirects to it.
Detection Tool See If Your System Has Been Affected by "Your computer has been Locked" Scam

Download

Malware Removal Tool

User ExperienceJoin Our Forum to Discuss "Your computer has been Locked" Scam.

+1-844-843-5125 Scam – How Did I Get It

There are two likely scenarios via which you may have begun seeing redirects to web pages, like the Google Security Alert scam. One of them is similar to what the Your computer has been BLOCKED messages are doing and that is to be redirected to the website automatically by simply visiting low-reputation websites that are of unknown origin. Such sites are usually websites you haven’t visited before and you know nothing about. Security experts strongly advise to refrain from those websites and visit sites that you can trust or use another browser for risky sites.

Another method which may have ended up in you seeing the “Your Computer has been Locked” tech support scam is if you have received a web browser redirection as a result of having a Potentially Unwanted Program that is installed on your computer. Such programs are often residing on your computer via bundling – an activity which includes them in the setup wizards of other free programs you may have downloaded from the web. Such programs are free media players, torrent software and some websites go as far as to bundle the installers of drivers as well – all with the goal to make money by slithering third-party adware programs that pretend to improve your online browsing experience, but in reality only show different types of ads. Since such programs are often installed as browsing extensions as well, you may also see other forms of ads, like:

  • Pop-ups.
  • Banners.
  • Ad-supported search results via a changed search engine that is not google.
  • Browser redirects like the Your computer has been Locked scam.

Since those programs are often hidden in the “Custom” or “Advanced” installation modes of your computer, it is strongly recommended to check each installation steps during a software install in the future.

”Your Computer has been Locked” Scam – Activity & Purpose

Once it has been introduced to your web browser, the scam redirects your to a URL, that locks your web browser, showing a red screen that is nothing like the original Google Security Warning. Here is a comparison underneath to see how the scam differs from the original notification, which is used when you are about to enter an unsafe site that is flagged as such:

In addition to this, the scam may also introduce other messages of similarity as we have detected before to be associated with other tech support numbers:

The end goal of such types of messages is to convince you to call the tech support number, where the scammers pretend to be official employees of Google or Microsoft and confirm the scamming notifications on the message itself. However, do not be fooled because the number 1-844-843-5125 has been reported by security researchers to be associated alongside other numbers like it with a lot of different types of tech support scam, so as you may have figured it out by now, the situation is rather obvious and the Your computer has been Locked scam should immediately be dealt with.

Remove “Your Computer has been Locked” Scam you’re your Browser and PC

In order to make sure that “Your Computer has been Locked” scam is removed from your computer system, we recommend that you follow the instructions underneath this article. They are divided in manual and automatic removal instructions and if you cannot remove this scamming message or continue to see such redirects in the future, experts always outline that anti-malware software is the best option to go for to remove the “Your Computer has been Locked” scamming pop-ups from your PC. It will automatically scan and detect all of the files and objects in your computer and effectively make sure that they are removed from your computer plus ensure that your PC stays protected against future intrusive software as well.

Manually delete "Your computer has been Locked" Scam from Windows and your browser

Note! Substantial notification about the "Your computer has been Locked" Scam threat: Manual removal of "Your computer has been Locked" Scam requires interference with system files and registries. Thus, it can cause damage to your PC. Even if your computer skills are not at a professional level, don’t worry. You can do the removal yourself just in 5 minutes, using a malware removal tool.

1.Remove or Uninstall "Your computer has been Locked" Scam in Windows
2.Remove "Your computer has been Locked" Scam from Your Browser
3.Fix registry entries created by "Your computer has been Locked" Scam on your PC

Automatically remove "Your computer has been Locked" Scam by downloading an advanced anti-malware program

1. Remove "Your computer has been Locked" Scam with SpyHunter Anti-Malware Tool
2. Back up your data to secure it against attacks related to "Your computer has been Locked" Scam in the future
Optional: Using Alternative Anti-Malware Tools

Ventsislav Krastev

Ventsislav has been covering the latest malware, software and newest tech developments at SensorsTechForum for 3 years now. He started out as a network administrator. Having graduated Marketing as well, Ventsislav also has passion for discovery of new shifts and innovations in cybersecurity that become game changers. After studying Value Chain Management and then Network Administration, he found his passion within cybersecrurity and is a strong believer in basic education of every user towards online safety.

More Posts - Website

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Share on Facebook Share
Loading...
Share on Twitter Tweet
Loading...
Share on Google Plus Share
Loading...
Share on Linkedin Share
Loading...
Share on Digg Share
Share on Reddit Share
Loading...
Share on Stumbleupon Share
Loading...