Wi-Fi Encryption Protocol WPA2 Jetzt Unsafe Aufgrund Krack Angriff
CYBER NEWS

Wi-Fi Encryption Protocol WPA2 Jetzt Unsafe Aufgrund Krack Angriff

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (Noch keine Bewertungen)
Loading ...

Krack Angriff Bild

Computer-Nutzer aufgepasst, Ihr Internetzugang sicher nicht mehr als Sicherheitsexperten, dass die beliebtesten WPA2 geknackt werden kann Verschlüsselungsprotokoll Wi-Fi entdeckt. Die Entdeckung wurde populär als Krack Angriff, der kurz ist Key Reinstallation Angriff.

Wi-Fi beliebtestes Verschlüsselung WPA2 Gebrochene über die Krack Angriff

Eines der gravierendsten Sicherheitslücken hat gerade weltweit von Sicherheitsexperten berichtet. Anscheinend Wi-Fi beliebtesten Verschlüsselungs Implementierung, die WPA2, die kurz ist Wi-Fi Protected Access Protocol II nicht mehr als sicher. Dies geschah, nachdem ein Team von Experten einen gefährlichen engineered Großtat des Krack-Angriff genannt, die es möglich für böswillige Benutzer macht auf Wi-Fi-Datenverkehr zwischen Computern und anderen Netzwerkgeräten wie Routern und Access Points belauschen.

Eines der interessantesten und erschreckende Aspekte ist, dass die freigesetzten Berichte nach der Proof-of-Concept-Exploit ein Geheimnis für eine lange Zeit geblieben ist (einige Wochen) bevor Informationen über die Schwachstelle wurde im Internet veröffentlicht. Ein US-CERT, die auf rund verteilt wurde 100 Organisationen beschreibt die Veranstaltung als Folgenden:

Die US-CERT hat sich bewusst von mehreren Key-Management-Schwachstellen in dem 4-Wege-Handshake von der Wi-Fi Protected Access II (WPA2) Sicherheitsprotokoll. Die Auswirkungen dieser Schwachstellen ausnutzt umfasst Entschlüsselungs, Paket Replay, TCP-Verbindung Hijacking, HTTP-Content-Injektion, und andere. Beachten Sie, dass als Protokoll-Ebene Fragen, die meisten oder alle korrekten Implementierungen des Standards wird betroffen sein. Das CERT / CC und die Berichterstattung Forscher KU Leuven, wird öffentlich sein Offenlegung diese Schwachstellen auf 16 Oktober 2017. Einer der Forscher ist Mathy Vanhoef von IMEC-DistrNet. Als Postdoc-Forscher in Computer-Sicherheit, berichtete er zuvor auf andere Themen wie Windows 10 Lock Screen Bypass.

Der Angriff funktioniert mit allen modernen Netzwerken, die WPA2 verwenden, die vorherrschende Form der Netzwerk-Verschlüsselung. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt ist es die bevorzugte Methode, mit der Mehrheit der Computer-Nutzer gewesen, da es eine starke Verschlüsselung Chiffre verwendet. Überraschenderweise beschäftigt sich der Krack Angriff nicht mit der Chiffre selbst, sondern ihre Umsetzung.

Auswirkungen des Krack Angriff auf Wi-Fi WPA2

Die verfügbaren Informationen zeigen, dass der Krack Angriff die Art und Weise der Ausnutzung der Sicherheitshandshake des WPA2-Verschlüsselungsprotokolls fähig ist, wird behandelt. Dies ist eine Folge von Anfragen und Antworten, die kryptographisch geschützten Daten liefern. Die Forscher fanden heraus, dass das, wenn der dritte Schritt wird mehrmals gesendet unter Verwendung von, In manchen Situationen kann ein kryptographisches Nachricht in einer Art und Weise wiederverwendet werden, die die Sicherheitsmaßnahmen effektiv stört. All dies hat zu Sicherheitsproblemen führen, die unter mehreren Advisories verfolgt:

  • CVE-2017-13077 - Neuinstallation der paarweise Verschlüsselungsschlüssel (PTK-TK) in dem 4-Wege-Handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13078 - Neuinstallation des Gruppenschlüssels (GTK) in dem 4-Wege-Handshake.
  • CVE-2.017-13.079 - Neuinstallation der Integrität Gruppenschlüssel (IGTK) in dem 4-Wege-Handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13080 - Neuinstallation des Gruppenschlüssels (GTK) in dem Gruppenschlüssel-Handshake.
  • CVE-2.017-13.081 - Neuinstallation der Integrität Gruppenschlüssel (IGTK) in dem Gruppenschlüssel-Handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13082 - eine neu übertragene Schnelle BSS Transition annehmen (FT) Reassoziation anfordern und erneutes Installieren der paarweise Verschlüsselungsschlüssel (PTK-TK) Bei der Verarbeitung es.
  • CVE-2017-13084 - Neuinstallation der STK-Taste im PeerKey Handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13086 - Neuinstallation des Getunnelte Direkt-Link-Setup- (TDLS) PeerKey (TPK) Schlüssel im TDLS Handshake.
  • CVE-2.017-13.087 - Neuinstallation des Gruppenschlüssels (GTK) bei der Verarbeitung eines Management-Wireless Network (WNM) Sleep Mode Antwortrahmen.
  • CVE-2.017-13.088 - Neuinstallation der Integrität Gruppenschlüssel (IGTK) bei der Verarbeitung eines Management-Wireless Network (WNM) Sleep Mode Antwortrahmen.

Informationen über die Krack Angriff und seine Auswirkungen auf die Wi-Fi WPA2 werden auf einem Vortrag präsentiert werden, die für November geplant ist, 1 an der ACM Conference on Computer und Kommunikationssicherheit.

Missbrauch der Netzwerke zu einem der folgenden Szenarien führen:

  • Informationen Harvesting - Der Hacker ist in der Lage mit dem Netzwerk-Stream zu hören und aktiv Informationen extrahieren, wenn sie entlang dem Opfer Benutzer zu den besuchten Websites gehen. Dies kann Passwörter verraten, Benutzer-Interaktion und andere sensible Daten.
  • Manipulation von Daten - Die Verbrecher haben die Fähigkeit, Pakete und Antworten auf Fahrzeuge, die an die Stelle der legitimen Anfragen der Besucher gesendet werden können,.
  • Malware-Infektionen - Die Krack ausnutzen kann verwendet werden, um die Opfer zu infizieren mit allen Arten von Viren, einschließlich der gefährlichsten Ransomware-Stämme.

Effektiv alle Geräte, die Wi-Fi-Standard in seiner aktuellen Implementierung durchzusetzen sind von der Sicherheitsanfälligkeit betroffen. Da immer mehr Geräte erhalten mit neuem Code aktualisiert, Wir fordern alle Computer-Nutzer alle Sicherheitsupdates anwenden so schnell wie möglich.

ähnliche Geschichte: Der beste Hacker Gadgets (Geräte) für 2017

Krack Angriff Nachgewiesene auf Wi-Fi WPA2-Netzwerke

Die Demonstration von den Forschern durchgeführt wurde auf einem Android-Gerät gemacht. Screenshots Online-Show geschrieben, wie die Angreifer konnten alle der übertragenen Daten von den Opfern entschlüsseln. Die Forscher erklären, dass der Angriff “außerordentlich verheerend gegen Linux und Android 6.0 oder höher”. Der Grund dafür ist, dass die Betriebssysteme lassen sich problemlos in der Neuinstallation ein All-Null-Verschlüsselungsschlüssel dazu verleitet werden,. Dies ist ein ernstes Problem, da die Mehrheit der Netzwerkgeräte weltweit auf einem Linux-Kernel läuft oder ein ähnliches System.

In Abhängigkeit von den Geräten und der Netzwerk-Setup insbesondere die Angreifer können auch den Strom von Daten entschlüsseln, die gegenüber den Opfern gesendet werden. Und obwohl viele Websites und Anwendungen stützen sich auf eine sichere Verbindung (wie HTTPS) es kann in dieser Situation umgangen werden.

Überlegungen über Krack Attack Implikationen

Der Vorfall verursacht hat ernsthafte Bedenken in der Industrie und die Profis Gemeinschaft. Einige Experten stellten die Frage für die Schaffung eines neuen stadard, die die succesor der WPA2-Verschlüsselung wäre, die so genannte WPA3. Diese Sorge wurde von den Krack Angriff Autoren beantwortet, die angeben, dass die Nutzer sollten ihre WPA2 Geräte so lange verwenden, weiterhin wie sie das anstehende Sicherheitsupdates von den Herstellern gelten.

Ändern des WLAN-Passwort (oder Sicherheitsschlüssel, wie es manchmal genannt wird,) wird den Angriff nicht verhindern oder mildern, wie die Arbeiten auf einem Netzwerkprotokollebene ausnutzen.

Wie aus dem Krack Angriff zu schützen

Die Sicherheitsexperten beachten Sie, dass die aktuelle Implementierung des WPA2-Verschlüsselungsprotokoll kann in einer rückwärtskompatibel Weise gepatcht werden. Dies bedeutet, dass die Gerätehersteller kritisches Sicherheits-Patches erstellen, die das Problem zu beheben. Dies ist die sicherste Möglichkeit, sich vor einem möglichen Missbrauch zu schützen.

Im Augenblick ist die einzig sinnvolle Art und Weise sensible Daten zu schützen, ist zu routen Datenverkehr über sichere VPN-Verbindungen oder Durchsetzung den WPA-Enterprise-Modus. Es wird in der Regel in Unternehmensnetzwerken verwendet, da es auf der Netzwerkauthentifizierung über einen speziellen RADIUS-Server stützt.

ähnliche Geschichte: Welches ist die Secure VPN-Dienstleistungen in 2017

Allerdings gibt es eine weitere Möglichkeit, die Computer-Nutzer schützen. Erweiterte Formen von Malware können die Krack Angriff als Teil ihrer Ausführungssequenz umfassen. Dies bedeutet, dass Virus-Attacken können die Exploit nutzen und in diesem Fall ist die einzige Möglichkeit, Benutzer vor Gefahren zu schützen, ist eine hochwertige Anti-Spyware-Lösung zu verwenden,. Es kann auch gefunden aktive Infektionen entfernen und sie mit wenigen Mausklicks entfernen.

Herunterladen

Malware Removal Tool


Spy Hunter Scanner nur die Bedrohung erkennen. Wenn Sie wollen, dass die Bedrohung automatisch entfernt wird, Müssen sie die vollversion des anti-malware tools kaufen.Erfahren Sie mehr über SpyHunter Anti-Malware-Tool / Wie SpyHunter Deinstallieren

Avatar

Martin Beltov

Martin hat einen Abschluss in Publishing von der Universität Sofia. er schreibt gerne über die neuesten Bedrohungen und Mechanismen des Eindringens Als Cyber-Security-Enthusiasten.

Mehr Beiträge - Webseite

Folge mir:
ZwitschernGoogle plus

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

Frist ist erschöpft. Bitte laden CAPTCHA.

Auf Facebook teilen Teilen
Loading ...
Empfehlen über Twitter Tweet
Loading ...
Share on Google Plus Teilen
Loading ...
Share on Linkedin Teilen
Loading ...
Empfehlen über Digg Teilen
Teilen auf Reddit Teilen
Loading ...
Empfehlen über Stumbleupon Teilen
Loading ...

Wi-Fi Encryption Protocol WPA2 Now Unsafe Due to Krack Attack
NEWS

Wi-Fi Encryption Protocol WPA2 Now Unsafe Due to Krack Attack

Krack Attack image

Computer users beware, your Internet access may no longer be safe as security experts discovered that the most popular Wi-Fi encryption protocol WPA2 can be cracked. The discovery became popular as the Krack attack which is short for Key Reinstallation Attack.

Wi-Fi’s Most Popular Encryption WPA2 Cracked via the Krack Attack

One of the most serious security bugs has just been reported by security experts worldwide. Apparently Wi-Fi’s most popular encryption implementation, the WPA2 which is short for Wi-Fi Protected Access II Protocol is no longer considered safe. This happened after a team of experts engineered a dangerous exploit called the Krack Attack which makes it possible for malicious users to eavesdrop on Wi-Fi traffic between computers and other network devices like routers and access points.

One of the most interesting and frightening aspects is that according to the released reports the proof-of-concept exploit has remained a secret for a long time (several weeks) before information about the vulnerability was posted online. An US CERT advisory which was distributed to around 100 organizations describes the event as the following:

US-CERT has become aware of several key management vulnerabilities in the 4-way handshake of the Wi-Fi Protected Access II (WPA2) security protocol. The impact of exploiting these vulnerabilities includes decryption, packet replay, TCP connection hijacking, HTTP content injection, and others. Note that as protocol-level issues, most or all correct implementations of the standard will be affected. The CERT/CC and the reporting researcher KU Leuven, will be publicly disclosing these vulnerabilities on 16 October 2017. One of the researchers is Mathy Vanhoef of imec-DistrNet. As a postdoctoral researcher in computer security he previously reported on other issues such as a Windows 10 Lock Screen bypass.

The attack works with all modern networks that employ WPA2 which is predominant form of network encryption. To this date it has been the preferred method by the majority of computer users as it uses a strong encryption cipher. Surprisingly the Krack attack deals not with the cipher itself but rather its implementation.

Implications of the Krack Attack on Wi-Fi WPA2

The available information shows that the Krack attack is capable of exploiting the way the security handshake of the WPA2 encryption protocol is handled. This is a sequence of requests and answers that deliver cryptographically protected data. The researchers uncovered that the when the third step is sent using multiple times, in some situations a cryptographic message can be reused in a way which effectively disrupts the security measures. All of this has lead to security issues that are tracked under multiple advisories:

  • CVE-2017-13077 ‒ Reinstallation of the pairwise encryption key (PTK-TK) in the 4-way handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13078 ‒ Reinstallation of the group key (GTK) in the 4-way handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13079 ‒ Reinstallation of the integrity group key (IGTK) in the 4-way handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13080 ‒ Reinstallation of the group key (GTK) in the group key handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13081 ‒ Reinstallation of the integrity group key (IGTK) in the group key handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13082 ‒ Accepting a retransmitted Fast BSS Transition (FT) Reassociation Request and reinstalling the pairwise encryption key (PTK-TK) while processing it.
  • CVE-2017-13084 ‒ Reinstallation of the STK key in the PeerKey handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13086 ‒ reinstallation of the Tunneled Direct-Link Setup (TDLS) PeerKey (TPK) key in the TDLS handshake.
  • CVE-2017-13087 ‒ reinstallation of the group key (GTK) when processing a Wireless Network Management (WNM) Sleep Mode Response frame.
  • CVE-2017-13088 ‒ reinstallation of the integrity group key (IGTK) when processing a Wireless Network Management (WNM) Sleep Mode Response frame.

Information on the Krack attack and its implications for Wi-Fi WPA2 are going to be presented on a talk which is scheduled for November 1 at the ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security.

Abuse of the networks can lead to any of the following scenarios:

  • Information Harvesting ‒ The hackers are able to listen to the network stream and actively extract information as it passes along from the victim user to the visited websites. This can reveal passwords, user interaction and other sensitive data.
  • Manipulation of Data ‒ The criminals have the ability to craft packets and responses which can be sent in the place of legitimate requests from the visitors.
  • Malware Infections ‒ The Krack exploit can be used to infect the victims with all sorts of viruses, including the most dangerous ransomware strains.

Effectively all devices that enforce the Wi-Fi standard in its current implementation are affected by the vulnerability. As more and more devices get updated with new code, we urge all computer users to apply all security updates as soon as possible.

Related Story: The Best Hacker Gadgets (Devices) for 2017

Krack Attack Demonstrated on Wi-Fi WPA2 Networks

The demonstration done by the researchers was made on an Android device. Screenshots posted online show how the attackers were able to decrypt all of the transmitted data by the victims. The researchers state that the attack is “exceptionally devastating against Linux and Android 6.0 or higher”. The reason for this is because the operating systems can be easily tricked into reinstalling an all-zero encryption key. This is a serious issue as the majority of network devices worldwide run on a Linux kernel or a similar system.

Depending on the devices and the network setup in particular the attackers can also decrypt the stream of data that is being sent towards the victims. And even though many sites and applications rely on a secure connection (such as HTTPS) it can be bypassed in this situation.

Considerations About Krack Attack’s Implications

The incident has caused serious concerns in the industry and the professionals community. Some experts raised the question for the creation of a new stadard which would be the succesor of the WPA2 encryption, the so-called WPA3. This concern has been answered by the Krack attack authors which state that the users should continue to use their WPA2 devices as long as they apply the forthcoming security updates by the vendors.

Changing the Wi-Fi password (or security key as it is sometimes called) will not prevent or mitigate the attack as the exploit works on a network protocol level.

How to Protect from the Krack Attack

The security researchers note that the current implementation of the WPA2 encryption protocol can be patched in a backwards-compatible manner. This means that the device vendors can create critical security patches which fix the issue. This is the safest way to protect yourself from possible abuse.

Right now the only sensible way of protecting sensitive data is to route all traffic through secure VPN connections or enforce the WPA-Enterprise mode. It is typically used in corporate networks as it relies on network authentication via a special RADIUS server.

Related Story: Which Are The Most Secure VPN Services In 2017

However there is another way which can protect computer users. Advanced forms of malware can include the Krack attack as part of their execution sequence. This means that virus attacks can utilize the exploit and in this case the only way to protect users from dangers is to use a quality anti-spyware solution. It can also remove found active infections and remove them with a few mouse clicks.

Download

Malware Removal Tool


Spy Hunter scanner will only detect the threat. If you want the threat to be automatically removed, you need to purchase the full version of the anti-malware tool.Find Out More About SpyHunter Anti-Malware Tool / How to Uninstall SpyHunter

Martin Beltov

Martin graduated with a degree in Publishing from Sofia University. As a cyber security enthusiast he enjoys writing about the latest threats and mechanisms of intrusion.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterGoogle Plus

Web Browsing Secure And Privacy Service
Special Offer
What Is a VPN and How Does It Work?

VPN is a service that keeps your web browsing secure and private.
Stop mass surveillance and browse freely by using a VPN. Keep your data encrypted, your IP hidden and your location changed!

Martin Beltov

Martin graduated with a degree in Publishing from Sofia University. As a cyber security enthusiast he enjoys writing about the latest threats and mechanisms of intrusion.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterGoogle Plus

Secure Service for Private Browsing
Special Offer
What Is a VPN and How Does It Work?

VPN is a service that keeps your web browsing secure and private.
Stop mass surveillance and browse freely by using a VPN. Keep your data encrypted, your IP hidden and your location changed!

Martin Beltov

Martin graduated with a degree in Publishing from Sofia University. As a cyber security enthusiast he enjoys writing about the latest threats and mechanisms of intrusion.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterGoogle Plus

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Share on Facebook Share
Loading...
Share on Twitter Tweet
Loading...
Share on Google Plus Share
Loading...
Share on Linkedin Share
Loading...
Share on Digg Share
Share on Reddit Share
Loading...
Share on Stumbleupon Share
Loading...